You are here

4 Sep 2019
Related Items: 
Weather Updates

Dare County remains under a Hurricane Warning and a Storm Surge Warning. A Flash Flood Watch will be in effect from 8:00 a.m. Thursday through 8:00 p.m. Friday. The current forecast brings storm force winds to the area beginning late Thursday. Residents and visitors who have not evacuated are strongly advised to make final preparations and leave before conditions deteriorate.  


Hurricane Dorian is forecasted to bring life-threatening impacts including flooding, heavy rain and strong winds. Storm surge from ocean and soundside flooding is currently estimated at three to six feet above the ground, not including wave action. To view storm surge estimates for your particular area, visit the National Hurricane Center’s storm inundation map Rainfall totals are estimated at eight to ten inches with up to 15 inches in some areas. In addition, winds are expected to reach hurricane force at the height of the storm.  


As stressed earlier, roads are expected to become impassable as the storm moves through late Thursday into Friday. Highway 12 on Hatteras Island is especially vulnerable to flooding and will likely become compromised and impassable as conditions worsen.   


The implementation of curfews and any additional prohibitions and restrictions will be announced Thursday following updates from the National Weather Service.  


North Carolina Emergency Management has opened shelters in other areas of the state, including pet-friendly locations. For updated shelter information, visit There are no emergency shelters in Dare County. 


The ban on ocean swimming will remain in place until the storm has passed. Stay out of the water as it is unsafe for even the most experienced swimmers.  


All Dare County and town offices will be closed Thursday, September 5 and Friday, September 6. There will be no trash collection in any areas of the county on Thursday and Friday. Secure garbage and recycling cans at your home and business in addition to all other outdoor equipment, furniture, gas tanks and grills. 


Monitor updated local weather forecasts from the National Weather Service at


The next update from Dare County Emergency Management will be issued when necessary to provide critical, storm-related information. Visit for updated information from Dare County, the towns of Kitty Hawk, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Manteo, and the National Park Service, Outer Banks Group.


Subscribe to receive emergency alerts via text, email or phone from Dare County Emergency Management at and follow @DareCountyEM on Twitter.